Skip to content

Hello world!

June 15, 2011

My wife is 39 weeks today (the above photo is from last week but I love it, I am pretty sure my wife would be busted for shoplifting a basketball at Modells). Our son will be born any day now. I am starting this blog to share my experiences and record my adventures with my first child. I am definitely very anxious but very excited.  Here are some random thoughts:

  • Everyone says to me that I better “get my sleep in now”. As if I could put the sleep I get now in a bank and store it up to use later. Later on I would say that having a baby is easy because I stored up all that sleep from before the baby came. If anything my wife and I should be practicing waking up every three hours to get us prepared for the baby.
  • Every time I tell another guy that I am having a baby boy they either give me a high five or say something like “way to go”. I insist that I will just be happy if the baby is healthy no matter what the sex is and they all say “right, of course” and then they give me a wink.
  • Everyone that has a baby insists on telling me about their gross pooh related stories. I am not sure if they are trying to scare me but from what I understand at one point or another your baby will have an accident in which it will resemble the swamp thing but it will not be covered with mud.
  • My wife and I have never kept a plant or any flowers I have bought her alive for more than three days. We are hoping a baby is easier to raise than a house plant.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Steve Katz permalink
    June 18, 2011 12:03 am

    Its so good to see someone with a bulge and its not from a twit”s tweet. He just quit his position in life as you begin yours. And what a wonderful one at that.
    You mention that you’re not sure about certain aspects of parenting, it doesn’t come with instructions. Yours will be life changing and with such special parents instructions will not be needed

  2. June 18, 2011 6:19 am

    YOU GUYS ARE GONA ROCK< house plant or not!

  3. June 18, 2011 6:21 am

    Oh, and i loved the part about what the other guys about you having a boy. SO GREAT!

Trackbacks

  1. People love to stare at pregnant women « newdaddyhood

Leave a Reply

