Skip to content

So, what is his name?

June 16, 2011

The most common question after what is the sex, is what is the name.  Some people are really open about sharing the name. We are not and I have a very good reason. If you tell someone the name before the baby is born then you get the response “oh, so that is what you are going with” (said in the most judgmental way).  But, if I introduce people to my baby and say, “this is my baby, his name is Bubblicious Kaplan” their reaction will be “oh what a lovely name, I think I had a great grandfather named Bubblicious”. No one is going to be judgmental to your face about the stupid name you have chosen for your child and that is all that I really want.  That is why George should have waited until having a baby before sharing the name “Seven”.

Some other random things about naming your child:

  • When people ask me the name my favorite response is “tell me, do you think this sounds Jewish, Barack Hussein Kaplan”
  • One of my favorite Louie CK jokes ” “You know what’s amazing to me? You can name your kid whatever you want. There are no laws, there should be a couple of laws. You can name your kid with no vowels if you want, like pffffsgggllttttt.””
  • When you name your baby there are two important points to consider: 1) you may want to honor a passed on relative; and 2) you want to avoid any name or combination of initials that will lead to your kid getting teased endlessly. #2 is way more important than #1.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 12:16 pm

    when i was pregnant, i did the exact opposite but i had a strategy. at the time, i was nannying for 3 little boys. when my husband and i picked a name we both liked, i would present it to “The Heckle Board.” For instance, one of my favorite names was Ella. When presented to the board, the immediate response was, “like Ella – Smella???” hell no i didn’t want 7 year olds calling my kid Ella-Smella. i know if she’s gonna get made fun of in school, there’s no stopping it. i’d like to think, however, that i did EVERYTHING within my power to avoid making it worse. not that you asked.

  2. June 17, 2011 12:17 pm

    ps, you didn’t strike me as a “comment moderator.” just sayin.

    • June 17, 2011 1:59 pm

      two reasons for comment moderating: 1) lot’s of random SPAM; and 2) I do not know what I am doing and am not sure how to turn off comment moderating.

  3. June 18, 2011 6:22 am

    please name your kid Bubbalicious!!

Leave a Reply

