Skip to content

Are you ready???

June 17, 2011

The one question I get from everyone for the last three months and may get asked a minimum four times a week now is “Are you ready?”. I do not know what it means to be ready. I feel like I am in one of those dreams where I have a Calculus exam but I cannot even find the book to study.  I tell people all the time that I have no idea what it will be like and no idea what to even expect. My sister has an 18 month old as well as a newborn (my nephew and new niece are AWESOME!!!).  People always respond to my lack of readiness or understanding by saying, “doesn’t your sister have a kid, so you do know what it is like?” No. I have seen my nephew a lot over the first 18 months of his life but every time we just play with him for a few hours and then hand him back. My sister and her husband do the heavy lifting. HOW CAN YOU FEEL READY TO RAISE A NEWBORN BABY 24/7 AND BE THE ONE IN CHARGE OF KEEPING HIM ALIVE??? I will be changing tons and tons of diapers, helping feeding (I guess this part is more my wife), calming his crying and it will only get more challenging. So am I ready for 18+ years of raising a child at a minimum? Yeah, I guess. I am as ready as you can be ready to go bungee jumping.

If by ready, people are asking whether we have a crib, changing table, stroller and some clothes. Then yes, I guess we are ready. If they are asking if we have read some books. Well, we have read parts of books. Every page of the baby book is crazy intimidating.  Every page I read I am like how the hell am I ever going to master all this on no sleep?

WHAT I REALLY HOPE IS MY WIFE FIGURES OUT ALL THE BABY STUFF AND TEACHES ME.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 18, 2011 6:09 am

    Marco, I LOVE that you started this blog!!! YOU ARE HILARIOUS! Comedy is definitely your calling! I hope you decide to go further with it. maybe getting something published, or a commentary column or getting back into stand up.

Leave a Reply

