Skip to content

Am I abusing my child by making him a Mets fan???

June 19, 2011

I am a big time New York Mets fan. I am also a big New York Jets and New York Knicks fan (I actually have a Knicks podcast).  My wife thinks I may be abusing our future son by making him a Mets, Jets and Knicks fan. The Mets, Jets and Knicks are three teams that continually compete to frustrate me. My first memories of being a Mets fan are from when I was seven in 1986 and they won the World Series (though I did not know it at the time, this will go down as the greatest moment for any of my teams in my lifetime). Since then, the Mets have continually frustrated and disappointed me. They can be fun the follow and they will get my hopes up at times but they will always tear my heart out (see 2000 and 2006 seasons). I believe my Mets fanhood has all the signs of battered wife syndrome.  The Knicks and Jets have also done a great job of disappointing me for years. The Jets have actually had some great years as of late but I know they are just setting me up for a catastrophic meltdown.  So my wife thinks I root for teams that will never make me happy and I am setting my son up for a life of disappointment. Just like me he will spend many years truly frustrated and disappointed by the Mets, Jets and Knicks. Well, at least we will be doing this together and we can complain together. Though, I am not sure how I will respond to the inevitable question, “Dad, why aren’t we fans of any good teams like the Yankees?”

My wife also asked me how do I know our son will be a Mets, Jets and Knicks fan. Well, here is an example of how I will make this happen, “Son, you know we only get dessert if the Mets win.”

UPDATE: My wife read just responded “so you are saying our son will never get to eat dessert?”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2011 10:35 pm

    That’s the cool/scary thing about being a parent. You can just say “The Jets are the best team” to a three year old and then he’ll grow up being a Jets fan because daddy said they are great.

  2. June 20, 2011 12:50 am

    my cousin Paul is the Vice President of player development and scouting for the Mets. i have no good reason for telling you this except to name drop. he also worked with Billy Beane back in the old days but asked that they remove his name from the movie “Moneyball” cause he didn’t like how they were destroying him to make his character playable by Jonah Hill. again, i’m just trying to look cool here.

  3. June 20, 2011 2:05 am

    Your cousin is Paul Depodesta??? Feel free to name drop. As a huge Mets fan and a huge fan of “Moneyball” I think that is really cool. I actually remember reading about the fact that he asked that his name not be in the movie. Do they make his character look bad in the upcoming movie?

    • June 20, 2011 9:17 pm

      they just make him this weird, nerdy, socially awkward introvert. i guess in the scheme of things it’s not a BIG deal, but he didn’t like the idea of a movie right from the beginning. i think more than anything he was worried about what “artistic liberties” they would take…. with Billy Beane being the handsome male lead it was only a matter of time before Paul turned into… well, Jonah HIll.

Leave a Reply

