Skip to content

I can’t figure out why we own butt paste…

July 25, 2011

We own the above item. Our baby nurse told us to get it. We now own A+D ointment, Vaseline and Butt Paste all for preventing and treating diaper rash. Every time our baby nurse would change our baby boy Zachary she would rub A+D or Vaseline in all his cracks to prevent diaper rash.  The thing is she would only use one or the other but never both. When I would ask her what the Vaseline was for she would say it is for preventing and treating diaper rash. She would say the same thing about the A+D ointment. I would keep trying to get her to explain when you would use Vaseline vs. when you would use A+D. She would never give me a straight answer (her accent also made it difficult for me to understand her). I would then say “well if the A+D and Vaseline are for preventing and treating diaper rash then what is the Butt Paste for?” Her response, “for preventing and treating diaper rash.” Hence, I have an unopened container of Butt Paste at home and I have no idea when to use it. Any help on this would be much appreciated.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2011 5:31 pm

    totally unnecessary to slather anything on baby’s butt until there is actually diaper rash. i had a tube of everything when we first had Avery because you never know what’s gonna work best for your kid. i heart butt paste. it’s the only one on the market that is mostly pretty natural but also actually works and it doesn’t smell terrible. but putting ointment (i hate that word) on the bum EVERY time you change a diaper is just a big waste of money. if you’re worried about him staying dry, try some talc-free powder like Burts Bees. all just my opinion, btw. this time you DID ask.

    • July 26, 2011 5:38 pm

      I definitely asked and always enjoy your comments.

      I have been rubbing Vaseline on his butt every time I change him. At least the Vaseline is pretty cheap so I haven’t been throwing away too much money. Hopefully he never gets diaper rash so I never have to use the Butt Paste.

Leave a Reply

