Skip to content

How is our baby torturing my wife today?

August 4, 2011

these are some of the tools of torture our baby uses on my wife

The events of last night have become too common. I took the first night feeding which ended up being being around 10:30PM last night. Our baby, Zachary was not too fussy during the feeding but it took a while to get him back to sleep (incidentally I watched 3 episodes of the Larry Sanders Show on Netflix streaming during this time. I am watching it for the first time I must say it was a pretty good show). Zachary then woke up around 3:30AM and my wife took that feeding. I woke up around 8AM feeling somewhat refreshed and looked over to see no one lying next to me. When I left the bedroom I found my wife with our baby on the couch.

ME: How were the night feedings?

WIFE: He has been up since 3:30AM!!! He keeps eating like every hour and refuses to go back to bed. I don’t know what I am going to do! (baby starts crying). He can’t still be hungry…I don’t understand…

Basically, I wake up each morning to find my wife on the verge of losing her mind. Our baby is torturing her through sleep deprivation Guantanamo Bay style. Our baby now thinks that somewhere between 3:30AM and 4:30AM is the beginning of the day (which may be true if you were a rooster).  There has to be a way to convince him that the day starts a few hours later or at least after sunrise. Zachary, please have mercy on your mother.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 4, 2011 5:48 pm

    the bad news: Avery just kicked her 4am feeding at 17 months old. the good news: theres nothing wrong with your baby 🙂 i spent a lot of time getting to know the hours before the sun rose, as do i’m sure tons of new moms. if she doesn’t already, your poor wife needs to sleep ANYTIME that baby sleeps. forget housework or anything else that might interfere with sleep. BE the baby. do as baby does. (i mean, don’t poop your pants or anything, but you get the point).

Leave a Reply

