Skip to content

Our pediatrician quizzes my wife on our baby’s development…and you thought the SATs were pressure packed

August 18, 2011

Our baby just went for his two month check up (he is a little over 7 weeks). Our pediatrician asked my wife some developmental questions. I was not there but here is a very rough take on how it went:

Pediatrician: When your baby is laying on his stomach, does he lift his head on his own up to a 45 degree angle?

Wife: I am not really sure how far that would be…

Pediatrician: Just answer the question.

Wife: (nervous) He can definitely lift his head up.

Pediatrician: Well we will see about that. (She places our baby on his stomach and he just lays there crying).

Wife: I swear he lifts his head at home! (baby continues to lay motionless while screaming).

Pediatrician: He doesn’t seem to be lifting his head.

Wife: He really does…

Pediatrician: Does he smile?

Wife: Yes, but I am not sure if it is on purpose.

Pediatrician: Does he laugh?

Wife: No..is he supposed to be able to?

Pediatrician: not for a few weeks at least

Wife: Then why did you ask?

Pediatrician: Does he seem to recognize you?

Wife: I don’t think he has a clue who I am.

Pediatrician: Hmmm. Does he grab things?

Wife: Only by accident

Pediatrician: Does he make baby sounds like Coo?

Wife: I think he once did but no one has heard him do it since.

Pediatrician: Does he look around a lot?

Wife: His eyes are open so I assume so.

Pediatrician: How are his bowel movements?

Wife: Our boy can definitely poop. I think he may be an advanced for his age pooper.

 

UPDATE: My wife wanted me to add that this is a completely fictionalized version of what actually happened at the pediatrician. Our boy actually did well except that he would not raise his head and was crying loudly.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 26, 2011 3:54 pm

    It’s good to see your child is meeting with the pediatrician’s standards. Hopefully you child will remain strong and healthy. Thank you for sharing your experience with the doctor.

Leave a Reply

