Skip to content

Day 3 of the Zachary Sleeping Crisis

September 8, 2011

This boy has not been very cooperative lately.

That is right, we have hit crisis mode. Zachary’s sleep at night has been getting worse over the last few nights and last night we reached mission critical. If things get any worse he may break my wife and I. We knew we were in for an awful night when after getting him to sleep at 8:30PM he started screaming at 10PM. When my wife and I heard him scream our eyes locked in terror. He woke up almost every hour thereafter except for one three hour stretch. My wife and I are strung up on caffeine right now and hoping to survive tonight. We have no idea how to reverse this trend. We keep questioning our strategies. We have tried using different swaddles, tried not swaddling him, fed him extra milk, had him sleep in both the crib and stroller, and read to him from the Economist.

My theory is that his sleeping problems stem from his nervousness about the upcoming New York Jets season (he says Rex better get us to the the Super Bowl this season). My wife’s theory is he is trying to kill us slowly.

The only funny part about last night is that during his 3 hour stretch I went to his room to check on him because he looked so lifeless in the video monitor. I stared at him to see if he was okay and then he let me know he was absolutely fine by letting out a rather loud fart.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 6:39 pm

    are you guys totally against co-sleeping? because co-sleeping saved my life… if you’re into it, i’d say give it a try. we got this thing called a “snuggle nest” that goes in between you and wifey that baby sleeps in to keep him safe (ie, no one rolls over on him). another thing (and you may send me a letter bomb for saying this, but here goes) is to try with all your might to not be stressed out when he wakes up. adopting a more roll with the punches type of attitude can help… not necessarily for baby’s sleep cycle, but definitely for your own piece of mind. please don’t hurt me….

    • September 8, 2011 6:47 pm

      I move around a lot in my sleep. Our baby would not survive one night in our bed. I am also worried he would get too used to that. How did it go having your baby in your bed?

      And, we are trying to roll with the punches the best we can and avoid getting stressed. Just hoping his sleep gets better.

  2. September 9, 2011 12:18 am

    yeah, if you’re not into baby in your bed, don’t start…. Avery’s still in our bed for half the night… but it’s because i allow it and love it 🙂

  3. September 14, 2011 12:15 am

    My friend had the baby sleep in the bed and now she’s 3 1/2 and still sleeps in the bed.

Leave a Reply

