Skip to content

My baby keeps raining on my sense of accomplishment

September 20, 2011

You know that feeling of accomplishment you get when you climb a mountain or run a really long distance or finish a big project at work. That is the same feeling I have every night when I get my baby to sleep. There is something about getting my baby to sleep for the night that feels like I have fought against the odds and pushed through the hurdles. When I put him down for the night I want throw my hands up and declare victory because I know he will sleep soundly for many hours. I know at that point I can relax for a couple of hours before going to sleep. Lately, my baby boy has been raining all over my victory parade. Normally, we put him down for the night around 8pm and he wakes up once during the night around 4AM. The last few nights we put him down at 8pm and he has woken up screaming like a half hour later. He has to be calmed and then he will sleep. He actually did this twice the other night waking up 15 minutes after going down and then 30 minutes after we got him down a second time. My baby does not seem to understand that I need these victories badly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

