Skip to content

Mental Note: A Happy Rosh Hashanah does not include sitting in traffic while your baby screams in the back seat

September 29, 2011

Rosh Hashanah is the Jewish New Year and it is the time of year when Jews gather with their family to celebrate whatever unknown year it just became on the Jewish calendar. We live on the upper east side of Manhattan and our plan yesterday for the first night of Rosh Hashanah was to go to my Aunt and Uncle’s in Rockland. We jumped in our Zipcar at 4:30PM and by 6PM (the time we meant to get to our destination) we had not even made it over the GW Bridge and out of New York City (we covered like 5 miles in an hour and a half which is a pretty good pace if you are pushing the car with your feet like Fred Flintstone). We sat in so much traffic I remarked to my wife, “how is it possible there are these many Jews living in Manhattan?” I know a lot of people really hate traffic but my wife and I REALLY hate traffic. Our little baby Zachary usually sleeps during car rides as long as, and this is important, we are continuously moving at a nice pace. When we are stopped in traffic or continuously stop and start at 5 mph Zachary goes from the cutest little baby to Satan’s nephew. Thus, at 5:30PM last night we sat in traffic with my baby screaming, my wife trying to induce him into a milk coma and me in the driver seat cursing the Jewish New Year. Traffic eventually broke and we ended up have an extremely fun time with my family. My suggestion though for next Rosh Hashanah is that we hold our family celebration on the nearest weekend when we can all relax and miss the mass Egypt like exodus from Manhattan.  

One positive about Zachary not being good at sitting still is that it gets me out of going to temple for the high holidays…though if we did go he would not be the only one crying.

Leave a Reply

