Skip to content

My baby has freaky big eyes

October 5, 2011

I love this photo of Zach, his mommy sure dresses him well. The first thing I notice when I look at this picture is that my boy has freaky big eyes. His eyes take up a rather large portion of his face. I had to ask Google if there was a reason for this and it turns out that a baby’s eyes are 65 and 75 percent of their adult size. At about 12 Ibs now Zach will probably be 15 times bigger as an adult but his eyes will only be a little bit bigger than they are now. It is just…well…cute and freaky. Also, when awake my boy always has his eyes as wide open as possible. No matter how hard I try I cannot get my eyes to stay this wide open. I guess it is good because it shows he is pretty alert. My boy will also dominate you in a staring contest.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2011 6:06 am

    He’s very cute, big eyes and all! Disney’s formula for a character meant to be utterly adorable includes huge eyes. 🙂

  2. Rebecca permalink
    September 12, 2012 8:37 pm

    So adorable!!
    My baby’s eyes are exactly like this! She looks like a deer in headlights sometimes haha. I was wondering if your baby’s eyes have “settled down” a bit or if they are
    Still wide open?

    • September 12, 2012 8:45 pm

      They are still wide open but Zach blinks a little more now so not quite as crazy as before. He
      is 14 months now and the changes are just amazing over the last year.

      • Erica permalink
        December 6, 2015 4:55 pm

        My baby is exactly the same and everyone’s first comment is “his eyes are so big” or “look at those eyes” or “he’s so alert” hahaha

        It’s 2015 now. Is your son still like this? I have joked with my husband that there aren’t many adults walking around like this but it does worry me that maybe there’s a bigger issue going on or something? It seems like he gets overstimulated.

      • December 6, 2015 8:36 pm

        I think it’s pretty common. My son looks normal now – he is now 4.5 yrs old – and my daughter also looked like this when she was this age.

        This photo seems like forever ago. It is crazy how fast the time moves, as cliche as that sounds.

      • Erica permalink
        December 6, 2015 10:08 pm

        Cliche but true!! I am so scared of time flying!

        Thanks for replying! I am glad I don’t have to worry about having a little steve buscemi!!!

  3. musah permalink
    May 14, 2013 5:22 pm

    he is so adorable! my baby girl also have big eyes. when she was 3 months i thought maybe they will change but no, they are still big..i love them:)

Leave a Reply

