Skip to content

BabyCenter provides some odd tips

November 30, 2011

I really think BabyCenter is a fantastic website for everything baby. They have great articles and wonderful message boards where parents discuss every possible issue you have ever had with your baby.  They have a weekly e-mail you can sign up for to follow your child’s development and I enjoy reading the e-mails every week. Recently a couple of things mentioned in the e-mails have caught my eye.

1)

One recent e-mail linked to an article discussing brushing your baby’s teeth which is very appropriate for us as Baby Zachary has started teething and we should be seeing teeth emerge sometime soon. What I found odd/amusing was this last paragraph:

To prevent problems, keep toothpaste out of your child’s reach, and use only a half-pea-sized drop when brushing. Encourage your child to spit out the toothpaste rather than swallow it — a concept that’s hard for very young children to understand.

Getting Baby Zachary to spit out toothpaste (or even understand the concept of spitting) would probably be the equivalent to teaching him advanced Calculus in terms of difficulty.  And, if  I am going to teach him to spit out why not also teach him other advanced and helpful concepts like how to change himself too. I would actually settle for teaching him the concept of not peeing on Daddy.  Hopefully, by the time I actually need to use toothpaste with Zachary he will be a little more advanced than he is now.

2)

Another recent BabyCenter e-mail linked to articles about baby coughing and baby constipation.  You would be amazed at how interesting these articles are to a new parent. I actually saw the link to the discussion on constipation and thought, “Nice, I have to read this now. Those people at BabyCenter must be mind readers.”

Both the article on coughing and on constipation were helpful (and Zachary is totally fine) but I found one point in the articles particularly odd. In the coughing article it mentions that you should call your doctor if there are, “little streaks of blood in the mucus he coughs up.” In the constipation article it mentions that if you see blood in your baby’s stool you should let your doctor know. Now, I don’t find these points to be odd because of the advice as you should contact your doctor if your baby coughs or poops blood. What I find odd is the fact that BabyCenter even feels the need to alert you that seeing blood = calling the doctor. How unbelievable shitty of a parent do you have to be to see blood coming out of one or more of your baby’s orifices and not call the doctor? Why don’t they throw in some more rather obvious tips like, “If while rolling over your baby’s head falls off you should dial 911 immediately,” or “If your infant starts chanting prayers in ancient Mayan you should call a priest and/or exorcist immediately.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jodi Red permalink
    November 30, 2011 6:28 pm

    Dyiiiiind of laughter….so so true.

  2. Jodi Red permalink
    November 30, 2011 6:29 pm

    *dying

  3. December 4, 2011 4:42 pm

    Hey. Great blog!

    You actually *can* teach baby not to pee on you — it’s called Elimination Communication and it’s frickin’ awesome. Also, our newborn spat up blood (I was terrified but apparently it’s normal) and the red from some pink-coloured baby meds (e.g. Tempra) can appear in stools as red streaks… I didn’t call the doctor and I think I’m a pretty attentive parent. 😉

    I’m working on a blog of places I’ve had to change my baby because they don’t offer great options for changing babies in public restrooms. That’s how I found your blog (your post tagged with ‘changing baby’). If you have any experiences of this, I’d love to hear about it. http://www.mamactivism.wordpress.com

    • December 5, 2011 1:19 am

      I looked up Elimination Communication and that sounds interesting but difficult. I am impressed that you were able to get it to work. I like your blog and I definitely think you are correct that more public restrooms should have changing tables. I have yet to have any really good stories about changing our baby in an odd place but I will definitely let you know when I do.

Leave a Reply

