Skip to content

Sweet Potatoes for Breakfast????????????????

December 7, 2011

Wifey thinks I am crazy. Baby Zachary has started eating real food. We were told by our pediatrician that when we introduce a new food we should feed it to him twice a day, in the morning and at night for three days before introducing another new food. The idea is to make sure there is no allergic reaction. We have started Baby Zachary off slowly and so far he has tried rice cereal, apples, sweet potatoes and carrots. The other day, we were in the process of introducing sweet potatoes and Wifey fed him breakfast:

ME: How did Zach like the sweet potatoes this morning?

WIFEY: Oh, I gave him apples this morning.

ME: But, I thought we were doing sweet potatoes?

WIFEY: Yeah, but he can’t eat sweet potatoes for breakfast.

I don’t get this and Wifey thinks I am crazy for wanting feed him sweet potatoes for breakfast. I really don’t understand why he can’t eat sweet potatoes for breakfast (on a side note, Baby Zachary LOVES sweet potatoes). We are now presently having the same debate over carrots. Wifey thinks there are certain foods that are defined for breakfast vs. dinner. I have no problem eating cereal for dinner and pizza for breakfast. I am fairly certain Baby Zachary has no preference and it is all mushy baby food so what is the difference? Someone else out there must agree with me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. courtney permalink
    December 13, 2011 1:17 am

    So, while I’m inclined to agree with you and your logic is sound, in practice I side with Liz. When Avery was younger and we were just introducing foods, I did exactly what you describe– stuck her with the same food for all of her meals (which did mean strange veggies for breakfast). But now that we’ve moved beyond allergy-alert-mode, I cannot bring myself to feed Avery a veggie for breakfast- it just doesn’t seem right! Pizza aside, do you really crave peas and carrots at 7am??

    • December 13, 2011 9:43 pm

      I don’t crave peas and carrots at 7AM. My point really was that since it is all baby mush does it matter if he eats sweet potato or carrot mush for breakfast? I agree that when he advances past baby mush we should probably only give him normal breakfast foods in the morning.

Leave a Reply

