Skip to content

My baby gets diaper rash and I get sad

December 12, 2011

Baby Zachary has diaper rash for the first time in his young life. It pains me to say this and pains him to have it. I was too sad to write about this when it first showed up last Thursday (I know this is common problem for babies but this is different because it is my baby).

HOW IT HAPPENED: Baby Zachary’s diaper rash coincided with Jose Reyes leaving the Mets so that may have been what caused the diaper rash. But, if it was not caused by his reaction to a future without Reyes, another explanation we read online is that babies are more susceptible to diaper rash when they first start eating solids as their stomach is dealing with all these new foods and their butt is exposed to all new irritants from the new food that winds up in their poop. The diaper rash can result from an allergic reaction to the new food or it can result from a prolonged period in a dirty diaper. The diaper rash first appeared Thursday morning. Baby Zachary went to sleep around 8pm on Wednesday night and, except for having to put the pacifier back in around 10pm, slept until 7AM (which would have been an awesome night if not for the diaper rash). When I went to get him in the morning he was just chilling in the crib as happy as can be. I then checked and found he had made a gigantic poop at some point in the night and his butt was soaking in it. Baby Zachary, why didn’t you tell us you pooped??? Baby Zachary, we don’t mind changing you in the middle of the night, we don’t need the sleep!!! Baby Zachary always tells us when he has pooped but for some reason he did not tell us that night. His butt looked red Thursday morning and he ended up getting a not fun case of diaper rash.

HOW WE REACTED: We were upset but I read online that it could be gone in a day so we did not get too upset at first. We were told to put some Butt Paste on, change his diaper frequently and avoid using the wipes as they have alcohol in them and can irritate him. The rash was not getting getting better over the next two days and we were getting super upset (we went from kind of worried to crisis mode real fast). The rash looked rather painful for Baby Zachary and he definitely did not seem all too happy. I started reading more online about diaper rash and found a number of ways to deal with it. From the message boards on BabyCenter, I could tell that diaper rash is a huge issue for tons of parents and that there may be a million ways to deal with it including a parent swearing by coconut oil (I am surprised no one suggested eye of newt). We started taking this rash much more seriously and putting tons of Butt Paste, A and D, Aquafor and anything else we could find to deal with it. My wife made an appointment to see the pediatrician for Monday (she talked me down from taking him to an emergency visit to the doctor on Saturday morning).

FINALLY PROGRESS: We finally made progress on Sunday with the wonderful advice from my sister and a friend which resulted in slathering his butt in  Balmex and using a hair dryer on his butt (you have to get his butt nice and dry before putting the Balmex on…and, yes using a hair dryer on your boy’s butt is plain odd). The rash, thank God, seems to be getting much less red and not bothering Baby Zachary too much…though he does not seem to like the hair dryer blowing on his butt.

SIDE NOTE: The Balmex cost $16 at Duae Reade. I have noticed that creams for diaper rash and treatments for baby gas seemed to be way overpriced but I guess the retailers understand that desperate parents will pay a lot to calm their crying babies. The retailers are actually probably not charging enough because I would have dropped $300+ easily on that Balmex if it was guaranteed to relieve my baby’s discomfort.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara D permalink
    December 12, 2011 7:27 pm

    Desitin EXTRA strength- its like 11 dollars I think, and it doesn’t squeeze out, u dip your finger in it.. Its like 50 percent zinc stuff. Takes care of my babys rash OVER NIGHT.

  2. Sara D permalink
    December 12, 2011 7:28 pm

    Butt Paste never really worked for us. Desitin is the best in my opinion.

  3. Sara D permalink
    December 12, 2011 7:31 pm

    Also.. I wouldn’t put a hair dryer on his bottom. You don’t know how hot it gets so quickly. I actually BLOW on my sons bottom. Its guaranteed not to burn his skin, and I only have to blow like 2 or 3 times, and its dry!

    • December 12, 2011 7:41 pm

      Thanks for your recommendation. I will definitely check out Destin. I am glad to hear we were not the only ones who seemed to have no luck with Butt Paste. Oh and I should have been clear my wife’s hair dryer has a button you press so it blows out cool air. I definitely don’t want to torch his little butt.

  4. Sharon Kent permalink
    December 14, 2011 10:08 am

    I’m a doctor and a new mum of a 3.5 month old and to prevent/treat nappy rash I try to give my baby lots of nappy free time (nekkid from the waist down, put him on lots of towels in case of any accidents and let him kick around a bit for as long as you can) if his bottom’s looking a bit red. Also like you said avoid any wipes and just use a tissue soaked in water for a while. Make sure his butt is really dry before putting on a new nappy.
    Sometimes if the rash is looking quite bad it’s worthwhile getting some hydrozole cream (1% steroid and 1% antifungal cream to put on it a couple of times a day.
    Love your blog!

    • December 14, 2011 12:44 pm

      I am glad you are enjoying my blog and I appreciate your advice. I have been trying to leave his butt naked for a while when changing him but I definitely get nervous about the accident that is bound to come out of him sooner or later when he is uncovered.

      Congratulations on your new baby!

  5. Randa Shoener permalink
    January 9, 2013 4:44 am

    when my baby gets diaper rashes, i always use zinc oxide cream to treat it.,

    Remember to read our favorite web-site
    <a href=" http://www.foodsupplemendigest.com/fish-oil-dosage/

Leave a Reply

