Skip to content

1, 2, 3, a cool counting book for Baby Zachary gives way too much credit to its author

January 31, 2012

One book that I have been reading to Baby Zachary a lot is “1 2 3 New York, A Cool Counting Book” (pictured above). Each page has a different number (1 – 10) with a picture of something New York related. The first page has the number one with a picture of the Statue of Liberty. The second page has the number two with a picture of two baseballs. The third page has the number three and a picture of three bridges. This keeps going until the last page which has the number ten and a picture of ten hot dogs. I like going through this book with Zachary and trying to teach him to count even though I doubt he really gets it right now.

What I find interesting and humorous is picturing how the author and illustrator put this book together…yes, that is right, this book has both an author and an illustrator. This book is by Puck and illustrated by Kevin Somers (I have no idea if it is the same Puck from the Real World and I refuse to do the research to find out). I imagine the writing/illustrating process went something like this:

Illustrator Kevin Somers: I am definitely excited to work with you as you come highly recommended from my agent. I assume you have some fresh and bold ideas for this children’s counting book. Over the phone you said you have pretty much written the whole thing? Well I can definitely come up with some good illustrations on the spot. Okay, so read me what you have for the first page.

Author Puck: One.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: Feel free to go on.

Author Puck: That is it.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: That is all you wrote for the first page.

Author Puck: Yes.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: Okay, well it is about New York so I will draw the Statue of Liberty. Read me the second page.

Author Puck: Two.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: Okay so for the first page you just wrote “o-n-e” and for the second page you just wrote “t-w-o”?

Author Puck: It is actually just the numbers “1” and “2”. They are not spelled out.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: Fine, I will draw two baseballs for the second page.

Author Puck: Three.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: What?

Author Puck: I was just reading you the third page.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: Are you sure you don’t want to expand on that? Maybe write more about the virtues of the number three.

Author Puck: I worked long and hard on this and I think brevity is more powerful.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: Fine I will draw a picture of three bridges. And the next page?

Author Puck: Four.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: Shocking! Do you have any idea of what I should draw to illustrate the number four?

Author Puck: Writing is more my thing as I am not a visual person. I am sure whatever you have in mind will be fine.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: New York has a lot of buildings, I will draw four of them. Let me guess, for the next page you just wrote “five”.

Author Puck: No. I think you should stick to illustrating and let me, the author handle writing.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: Fine. What did you write for the next page?

Author Puck: Five.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: Are you for real? I just said that.

Author Puck: I don’t think you did.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: (picks up the front cover) Wait, does your name really come before my name on the front of the book?

Author Puck: Of course, I am the author.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: Author of what?

Author Puck: I worked long and hard to write this book.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: I am doing all the work with the illustrations. All you are doing is just writing the numbers one through ten. Any idiot could do that.

Author Puck: True genius is writing a masterpiece that seems so simple in hindsight.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: What the hell are you talking about?

Author Puck: Six.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: What?

Author Puck: I thought you were ready to go on to the next page.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: Wait are you getting paid more than me?

Author Puck: I am the author.

Illustrator Kevin Somers: I am going to kill my agent for this.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 1, 2012 10:52 am

    Made me giggle. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

