Skip to content

I am going to eat out of baby jars for the rest of my life

April 26, 2012

THE AFTERMATH

I was told that Baby Zachary would love mashed potatoes. I was told to just melt some butter in there and then melt some cheese on top. It sounds delicious. Do you know what I call the person who told me this? A goddamn liar. I tried feeding Zachary mashed potatoes last night and he did not react very well to say the least. He almost lost his mind when I put the first spoonful in his mouth reacting as if I was serving him a bowl of mud. As a matter of fact, he reacts to just about any food I serve him that is not baby mush from a jar as if I shoved a mud sandwich or pile of dung in his mouth. I do not understand it but I have tried so many different foods and the reaction is never good. The best I can get him to do is to eat a bit of banana or blueberry with the same look you would have if you were swallowing cough syrup. Does everything taste like cough syrup to him? Is there nothing he will like? I am beginning to think he will be the only kid at lunch in high school with a brown bag full of Earth’s Best level 2 baby food jars. I am sure by then he will be eating a whole lot of 4oz jars.

How did Zachary end up looking like the above picture you ask? How does every new experiment with food go you ask? First I put the new food like mashed potatoes in his mouth. He immediately starts to whine and move his head from side to side. His lips are now glued together. This is, of course, the start of meal time so I have to carry on. I try a second spoonful of mashed potatoes and he knocks the spoon out of my hands. He has become good enough with his hands and arms to purposely knock items like spoons out of my hands, oh joy. I try one more spoonful of mashed potatoes before realizing I need to proceed to Plan B. I take out a jar of sweet potatoes and try mixing the sweet potatoes with the mashed potatoes. Zachary opens his mouth but immediately spits it out. He refuses to take another spoonful as he will not fall for this trickery. The trickery is not well done by me as I mix the sweet potatoes from the jar with the mashed potatoes right in front of him. I then show Zachary that I am done with the mashed potatoes by moving the bowl off to the side hoping he will understand this as some type of white flag in our battle. I try a spoonful of sweet potato jar food and he still refuses and knocks it out of my hand. I go to a second spoonful, hold his hands down with my opposite hand and gently shove the spoon through his locked jaws. Zachary, tasting the food he actually likes relents and opens his mouth up for a second spoonful. Finally trusting me, he keeps opening his mouth and happily finishes his jar of sweet potatoes. And, that is how Zachary ends up looking like he just stepped out of the food fight scene from Animal House.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jodi Red permalink
    April 26, 2012 8:56 pm

    Tons of laughs about Zach and his food choices. He looks so cute though (but you’ve convinced us not to be fooled by the baby blues). Love love love this blog 🙂

    • April 26, 2012 8:59 pm

      I am really glad you are enjoying my blog.

  2. Jodi Red permalink
    April 26, 2012 9:00 pm

    random question: What colour are Zach’s eyes?

    • April 26, 2012 9:01 pm

      They are blue.

  3. April 27, 2012 2:16 am

    So familiar! It’s funny and frustrating. Elspeth is nearly three and she’s still eating mostly from jars! Fussy thing. Evelyn, on the other hand, is 7 months old and doing very well. One thing I suggest trying for Zachary is a mixture of mashed/pureed apple and carrot. Apparently EVERY baby loves this, and Evelyn certainly does. 🙂

Leave a Reply

