Skip to content

Missed Connections: Terrible Mother

April 30, 2012

It was yesterday at Central Park in the grassy fields around 70th Street. I was the father sitting on a blanket with my 10 month old son and wife, we had a green Citi-Mini Stroller. You were the mother playing catch with her 7 and 5 year old sons (I am guessing on the ages). I was the one lifting my baby in the air to play “Super Baby”. You were the one playing catch with your sons telling one of them how awful his throws were and saying he can do better than that. I was the one blowing raspberries at my son. You were the one telling one of your sons to stop being an idiot for forgetting something as you were getting ready to leave. I was the one feeding my hungry baby a bottle. You were the one who threw your son’s jacket on the ground and walked away while he hurried over to pick it up and follow. If you remember me please write back. Maybe we could meet for coffee and you could explain to me how belittling your sons and calling them names is good for their development. Or, maybe you have already written a book on parenting you could share with me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2012 2:13 pm

    Aw this makes me sad.

  2. May 2, 2012 1:51 am

    I really hope she’s not always like that, maybe she was just having a bad day. We all have bad days, right? But something tells me that’s normal for her, and that is sad. Does she take no joy in parenting? Can’t she relax and have fun with her sons? 😦

Leave a Reply

