Skip to content

How you learn to talk good?

January 22, 2013

Lenny, Maddy and Zachary – it was just about impossible to get a picture with all three of them looking

Zachary had a play date this past weekend with his cousins Lenny and Maddy. Lenny is just over 3 yrs old. Here is a conversation I had with him.

LENNY: Uncle Marc, let me show you this game on the iPad.

ME: That’s great, but why don’t you show that game to your cousin Zach?

LENNY: Zach can’t talk.

I have been told that one of the crazier moments as a parent is when you are first able to have an actual conversation with your child. Lenny is just over 3 and he can clearly hold a conversation. Zachary is 18 months and can say maybe 25 words. I would assume that by the time Zachary is 3 he, too, will be able to hold a conversation but I really do not understand how we get there. I am not sure how Zachary goes from individual words to sentences to a conversation but I guess it should happen over the next 18 months.

As a parent, I am responsible for teaching my son to talk. Teaching Zachary individual nouns makes sense as you just point to an object and say its name. How do I teach Zachary verbs or adjectives? Yesterday, another 3 yr old child said, “That fire truck is actually mine”. She emphasized the word “actually” and I have no idea how I would actually teach that word to Zachary.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

