Skip to content

Parenting Tip of the Day: Cell Phones

April 2, 2013

PROBLEM: What to do if your toddler insists on playing with your cell phone?

– Zachary is slightly obsessed with playing with my cell phone which can pose a problem because sometimes he will text people or even call people. I don’t know how he figures out how to do this but it is awkward explaining to someone you have not spoken to in six months why you were calling them at 6AM on a Sunday.

SOLUTION: AIRPLANE MODE!!! Airplane mode is no longer just for flying. Zachary can still somehow change the settings like the background on my phone but at least he can’t connect with the outside world on my behalf.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2013 7:19 pm

    Have you tried “guided access” (iphone)? I use it with my 21 month old, it’s a lifesaver.

    • April 3, 2013 7:23 pm

      I live in the stone age and don’t have a smartphone but my wife has an iPhone. Thanks for the suggestion, I will look into it.

Leave a Reply

