Skip to content

The Great Toddler Negotiations of 2013

May 14, 2013

I have shockingly found that I can effectively negotiate with Zachary. One of the most frustrating things lately has been getting Zachary dressed in the morning and getting him into his pajamas at night. This usually involves him screaming, shouting “no, no, no!!!”  as I try to take his pants or shirt off and him running around for fifteen minutes in his diaper or worse naked. I do not know why it bothers him so. My theory is that Zachary likes to be independent (lucky us) and forcing him to change his clothes interferes with this independence. The last couple of days though, getting Zachary dressed has been a breeze. I have started negotiating with him. The most effective negotiating tactic lately has been telling Zachary that if he changes his clothes then, and only then, will I read to him, “The Snowy Day”. Zachary then complies and I read him this story. I am sure this will not last but I am really enjoying negotiating with Zachary so far.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2013 7:26 pm

    Hey man, first time on your site and going through some of your posts, it’s great you’ve documented so much about becoming a dad.

    I’ve just become a dad as well, and started a blog to keep track of all the things I’ve learnt and hopefully meet other bloggers like yourself.

    • May 14, 2013 7:39 pm

      Hey James, congratulations on becoming a Dad. It is really a fantastic experience and blogging about it is a great way to track memories, share stories with friends and family and it is also really fun to look back on.

Trackbacks

  1. Parenting 101: Is it okay to bribe your toddler? | newdaddyhood

Leave a Reply

